ICD-10 Conversion

ICD-10 Conversion Tool

The Scottline ICD-10 conversion tool is the result of an effort that Scottline undertook to review the relationships between ICD-9 and ICD-10 diagnosis codes as the initial stage of preparing for implementation of ICD-10.

Scottline help streamline ICD-10 implementation. We identify your current systems and work processes, look for modification in the current system or upgrade to ICD-10 i.e we provide Clinical Documentation, Encounter forms or “super bills”, Practice management system, Electronic health record or electronic medical record system, Quality Billing, and Public Health Reporting services.

Currently in the United States, ICD-9 is the code set used to report diagnoses and inpatient procedures. “ICD-9” stands for International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, and Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM). ICD-9-CM is based on the official version of the World Health Organization’s (WHO) ninth revision of the International Classification of Diseases. ICD-9 is designed for the classification of patient morbidity (sickness) and mortality (death) information for statistical purposes. There are three volumes of ICD-9-CM. Volumes 1 and 2 contain codes for reporting diagnoses and symptoms. Volume 3 contains codes for reporting surgical and non-surgical procedures in the inpatient setting. ICD-9 was named as the standard code set for reporting diagnoses and inpatient procedures under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and was implemented in 2003. On January 16, 2009, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) published a regulation requiring the replacement of the ICD-9 code set with ICD-10 as of October 1, 2015. All encounters and discharges on or after October 1, 2015 must use the ICD-10 codes. The regulation does not allow for use of the ICD-10 codes prior to the compliance date

Impact to the current system:

The implementation of ICD-10 will require significant changes to clinical and administrative systems that capture and report diagnosis codes. In addition to the changes for ICD-10, practices will need system changes for updating the HIPAA transactions from version 4010 to 5010. Implementation of the version 5010 transactions and ICD-10 will overlap. Understanding the changes required for both conversions and the impact on your practice will prepare you for the transition to ICD-10.

Scottline Approach towards ICD-10 Conversion

The tool was developed using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) General Equivalence Mappings (GEMs) as a baseline.

Codes, Codes, Codes…Many more codes see the differences below:

With a nearly fivefold increase from 14,000 diagnosis codes to over 69,000 and a nearly 19-fold increase from almost 4,000 procedure codes to almost 72,000 the transition from ICD-9 to ICD-10 can seem overwhelming.

Specialties affected differently

While many of the ICD-10 codes are built upon existing ICD-9 codes, some codes are significantly different than ICD-9. Similar diagnoses may have completely different codes. Specialties such as obstetrics, psychiatry, and emergency medicine, along with specialties that deal with musculoskeletal disease and injuries, will encounter disproportionately significant changes.


After you have typed in some text, hit ENTER to start searching...